U.S. House Democrats say they have enough votes to impeach Trump

President Donald Trump's reelection campaign has filed or intervened in more than a dozen of the election lawsuits, many of which could affect turnout and results in swing states. (Photo by Shealah Craighead via Flickr Public Domain)
Updated, 6:14 a.m., 1/12/21

WASHINGTON — At least 214 Democrats in the U.S. House of Representatives have signed on to a measure to impeach President Donald Trump that was introduced Monday, charging him with inciting the insurrection at the U.S. Capitol last week.

Supporters of the impeachment effort say they would have enough votes to send charges against Trump — who is days away from leaving office — to the Senate for a second time.

Six of the seven Democratic members from Michigan have signed on: U.S. Reps. Debbie Dingell (D-Dearborn), Dan Kildee (D-Flint), Brenda Lawrence (D-Southfield), Andy Levin (D-Bloomfield Twp.), Haley Stevens (D-Rochester Hills) and Rashida Tlaib (D-Detroit). Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-Holly) signed on later on Tuesday.*

There are 222 Democrats in the House and 211 Republicans, with one race still undecided and one vacancy, so Democrats would need 217 votes.

Four Democrats who serve on the House Judiciary Committee — Reps. David Cicilline of Rhode Island, Ted Lieu of California, Jamie Raskin of Maryland and Jerrold Nadler of New York — introduced the impeachment resolution.

“Most important of all, I can report that we now have the votes to impeach,” Cicilline wrote on Twitter as he posted a copy of the resolution.

The impeachment measure accuses Trump of making statements that “encouraged—and foreseeably resulted in — lawless action at the Capitol, such as: ‘if you don’t fight like hell, you’re not going to have a country anymore.’”

The measure also cites Trump’s phone call directing Georgia Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger to “find” votes to overturn President-elect Joe Biden’s win in the state.

“In all this, President Trump gravely endangered the security of the United States and its institutions of government,” the measure reads. “He threatened the integrity of the democratic  system, interfered with the peaceful transition of power, and imperiled a coequal branch of government. He thereby betrayed his trust as president, to the manifest injury of the people of the United States.”

The impeachment process could begin as soon as Wednesday, following a final effort to ask Vice President Mike Pence to invoke the 25th Amendment to remove Trump from office, if a majority of the Cabinet also approves.

Democrats unveil resolution to impeach Trump, fearing self-pardon

Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-Md.) sought on Monday morning to bring up for unanimous approval a resolution from Raskin that would urge Pence to begin the 25th Amendment process. Republicans objected to that action.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) has said the chamber will hold a floor vote on the resolution Tuesday, before moving to the impeachment process.

The impeachment process would typically begin in the House Judiciary Committee, but it is expected to go directly to the full House. If the article of impeachment is approved, the Senate would then hold a trial, which Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has said would not begin until Jan. 19, the day before Biden is set to be sworn in.

At least two Senate Republicans have called for Trump to resign: Sens. Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, and Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania.

Toomey said in broadcast interviews over the weekend that he believes Trump “committed impeachable offenses,” and suggested that the outgoing president could potentially face “criminal liability” related to the Capitol insurrection. But Toomey stopped short of saying that he would vote to convict Trump if the House does send over articles of impeachment.

“Whether impeachment can pass the United States Senate is not the issue,” Hoyer told reporters Monday morning, according to a pool feed.

“The issue is we have a president most of us believe participated in encouraging an insurrection and an attack on this building and on democracy and trying to subvert the counting of the presidential ballot.”

Detroit NAACP leader on Trump: ‘We just want his ass out’ 

Here is a list obtained by States Newsroom of members from other States Newsroom states who have signed on to the impeachment resolution, as of Monday morning:


Ruben Gallego

Raul Grijalva

Ann Kirkpatrick

Tom O’Halleran

Greg Stanton


Jason Crow

Diana DeGette

Joe Neguse


Kathy Castor

Charlie Crist

Val Demings

Ted Deutch

Lois Frankel

Alcee Hastings

Al Lawson

Stephanie Murphy

Darren Soto

Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Frederica S Wilson


Sanford Bishop

Carolyn Bourdeaux

Hank Johnson

Lucy McBath

David Scott

Nikema Williams


Cindy Axne


Sharice L. Davids


Chellie Pingree


Anthony Brown

Jamie Raskin

Kweisi Mfume

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger

John Sarbanes

David Trone


Angie Craig

Betty McCollum

Ilhan Omar

Dean Phillips


Cori Bush

Emanuel Cleaver


Steven Horsford

Susie Lee

Dina Titus


Alma Adams

G.K. Butterfield

Kathy Manning

David Price

Deborah Ross


Joyce Beatty

Marcy Kaptur

Tim Ryan


Brendan Boyle

Matt Cartwright

Madeleine Dean

Mike Doyle

Dwight Evans

Chrissy Houlahan

Conor Lamb

Mary Gay Scanlon

Susan Wild


Steve Cohen

Jim Cooper


Donald Beyer

Gerry Connolly

Elaine Luria

A. Donald McEachin

Robert C. “Bobby” Scott

Abigail Spanberger

Jennifer Wexton


Gwen Moore

Mark Pocan